January 31, 2009

Game. Set. Match!

Posted in Women's Fashion at 3:35 pm by styleed

I’ve never been one of those gung ho tennis fans, but I do enjoy watching a few games. For the last two weeks I’ve been watching the Australian Open on my TV, inside my lovely cool air conditioned room. Poor Adelaide has endured 5 consecutive days of above 40°C weather!

During that time I took notice of the tennis outfits the major sports brands designed- Nike, Fila, Yonex, Adidas, Lacoste etc…
Out of the women players, Ana Ivanovic’s Adidas outfit caught my eye- I loved that purple colour on her and thought it went well with her skin tone. Although she is known to be one of the tennis Glamour Girls, so I guess this is to be expected.

Ana Ivanovic

Ana Ivanovic

I’d like to make an honourable mention to Venus Williams– her fluorescent highlighter yellow outfit (designed by her own brand, ‘Eleven’) caused an eye ache on most! I had to put my sunnies on, the glare was that bad! I can’t help but think it was a tactical move on her behalf… the other players probably had trouble following the tennis ball, with her camouflage-like outfit! But good on her for winning the doubles with her sister, Serena Williams!

Venus and Serena Williams

Venus and Serena Williams

A popular topic about the men’s outfits this tournament was Rafael Nadal’s short sleeved Nike top. Yes, you heard me, short sleeved. Not sleeveless, as many drooling fans would have preferred! I have never been an avid fan of Nadal- is that a “gasp” I hear? But managed to watch my first proper Nadal match (the semi final against Fernando Verdasco). During this game I coudn’t help but notice Nadal’s habit of picking out his wedgie after every point! Maybe someone should tell Nike to add more material to his shorts.

b_nadal_20_022

I’m waiting for the showdown between Nadal and Federer… I’m cheering for the FedEx!

-Style Ed

1 Comment »

  1. Mom said,

    Gotta hate that Adelaide weather!! I also loved that outfit of Ana Ivanovic, she just has the perfect combination of glamour and style. Shame she didn’t win the open


Leave a Reply

